SNOW!

Leave a comment

November 8, 2010 by buttermilkbaker

This morning, I woke up to this:

If you can’t already tell, that’s snow on those rooftops. And the Today show on in the reflection. Naturally.

So what did I do?

Made oatmeal of course! The usual:

  • 1/3 cup quick cook oats (feel free to use Old Fashioned as well–I love their texture)
  • 2/3 cup water
  • pinch/splash/dash salt, nutmeg, ginger, vanilla extract
  • 3 vehement shakes cinnamon
  • 1 banana (1/2 sliced in, 1/2 on top)
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 heaping spoonful of PB
  • sweetener (I use truvia + Equal)

Twas delish, as always. I think the salt is the key–it really accents the sweetness of the banana. Don’t skimp!

And now I’m contemplating what baked good I can make today to commemorate the first snow. I have loads of pumpkin, a bowlful of apples, and 2 hefty sweet potatoes (sprouting a bit…) vying for some baking love. Thoughts?!

While beautiful in a way…

…the snow really just makes me want to stay warm and cozy indoors. Preferably surrounded by the aroma of sweet, sweet treats baking in the oven.

Hello, oven. Don’t go anywhere. I’ll be back. Get excited.

And seriously–what should I make today? Mom’s Apple Squares? Pumpkin Cake with Browned Butter Chocolate Fudge Frosting? Bourbon Caramel Apple Pie with Toasted Pecan Crumble?

Or just some good old fashioned Cinnamon Rolls a la the Pioneer Woman? (Honestly, is there anything better?!)

Happy Monday, I look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to BwB and get email updates whenever I post something new!

Join 25 other followers

Categories

