First KitchenAid Project: Bagels!

Leave a comment

December 2, 2010 by buttermilkbaker

First, homemade gnocchi. Second, homemade bagels.

Next, the world?!

Probably just some cookies actually. Maybe peanut butter…or oatmeal chocolate chip…

Nevermind that.

So I’ve made homemade bagels before and they always come out kinda flat. Not taste-wise, but literally they look flattened. It’s weird. I’m not sure if it’s the oven (too hot?) or the baking sheet (too dark?) or the water (too…watery?). Alas, one of life’s mysteries.

This batch was my best as far as shape, but probably my worst in terms of taste. We were out of granulated sugar so I went with brown (mistake #1) and subbed in all white whole wheat flour (mistake #2?). It resulted in a much denser dough, and instead of yielding 6 bagels it only gave me 4. Hmmm.

P.S. Check out my new oven mitt. Uh huh. Dat’s right.

But I’m showing you the process anyway! Why? Because I used my brand new handy dandy KitchenAid mixer of course!

Look at that dough hook go!

I couldn’t just let this event go undocumented. No way, no how.

Boiling…

Boiling…

Boiled! Ready for baking.

About 40 minutes in the oven at 400 degrees and they’re done. Easy peasy!

Plus, I ate them anyway. See?

Along with a fat Fuji apple and a jumbo cuppa joe.

There’s something so wonderfully simple about a plain bagel with plain cream cheese, don’t you think?

Note the thinness. Oh welllll–I told you there were going to be kitchen blunders!

And you know what? That’s okay. I had fun in the process and now I know never, ever, ever to sub both brown sugar and WWW flour for the regular old white stuff ever again.

(Original recipe can be found at http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/homemade-bagels-recipe/index.html. They’re usually good, I swear!)

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to BwB and get email updates whenever I post something new!

Join 25 other followers

Categories

