To wake up early or not to wake up early?

1

October 6, 2011 by buttermilkbaker

That is the question.

Since starting my new job, I’ve been struggling with finding a morning routine I like. In the past I’ve woken up and had a leisurely breakfast with the NYT xword puzzle…or DVR’d episodes of Say Yes to the Dress.

What, you don’t love SYTTD? I find it uplifting.

Anywayyy since now I’m expected to be at school + ready for action by 7:30, I no longer have that luxury. So far I’ve been bringing my bfast into the classroom and scarfing my food while reading blogs lesson planning in about 15 mins. Exhibit A:

20111005-081840.jpg

20111005-081852.jpg

Mmmm Tupperware. Not exactly my idea of a relaxing or soothing (or appetizing-looking?) way to start the day.

The problem is that if I eat much earlier than 7, I’m hungry by 10:30 and want to chomp my kids’ heads off (more than I already do) before lunch finalllyyyyyy arrives at noon. Halp!

So this morning I tested a new plan. I woke up at 5:30 and ever-so-slowly relished my delicious pumpkin oats over the new Rachel Zoe episode. They were awesome. The oats and RZ. Unfortunately I didn’t snap a pic of the food…sowwy.

As expected, I was starving by 10:30 so I grabbed another naner from the cafeteria and gobbled it down in .2 seconds. Worked pretty well! Just a little more sugar than I wanted in my system so early in the day.

Lunch rolled around, then classclassclassRECESSclassartclubhome. Went for a quickie run after polishing off the last nugget of a Ginger snap Larabar (loved it!) and made dinner. Another mishmash leftover remix. This time:

20111005-081912.jpg

Last night’s sausage/butternut squash/caramelized onion/mushroom ragout combined with sauteed tomatoes, corn, more onions and shrooms. Add in an egg (protein!) and roasted broccoli and more butt. squash (ha) andddd you’re done!

20111005-081929.jpg

Purdy, ain’t she?

Don’t answer that.

Followed by this beaut:

20111005-081943.jpg

That would be a slice of Life Is Good’s GF brown rice bread slathered in a cinnamony pumpkin/stevia/almond milk mixture and toasted for a few minutos. Alongside a honeycrisp apple sprinkled with–surprise!–more cinnamon. Fall on a plate.

20111005-081955.jpg

THIS WAS AWESOME. Super doughy, slightly sweet and subtly spicay. A lot like real pumpkin bread without all that baking fuss.

P.S. I miss gluten about zero percent. I feel so much better: less irritable, less tired, less lethargic, and yes, less bloated. No, I haven’t cut it out completely (especially on weekends seeing that it’s physically impossible for me to resist an Essabagel) but I like avoiding it as much as I can whenever I can. During the week my meals are not only completely GF, but absolutely dericious. That’s a victory in my book.

Anddddd now I’m zonked and need to shower (ew) and go.to.bed. Night!

One thought on “To wake up early or not to wake up early?

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to BwB and get email updates whenever I post something new!

Join 25 other followers

Categories

