Healthy Apple Crisp

Leave a comment

January 8, 2011 by buttermilkbaker

That apple crisp recipe I promised you the other day? Yeah, it’s time.

The recipe originally comes from one of my very favorite foodies, Joy the Baker. She is amazing. And funny. And cool. And takes really pretty pictures and mine don’t even come close and I’m sorry for if you’re reading this Joy but I tried I swear!

Who am I kidding? Joy ain’t comin here.

So I took the recipe and healthified it a bit, but only a bit so as to not sacrifice flavor. Basically I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 turbinado sugar, and 3/4 of the butter in the topping, while cutting back on the sugar in the fruit. And it came out fabulously anyway! The simplicity of the ingredients really allowed the apples to come through, and I seriously could not detect a difference in the topping, aside from mayyybe it being a little nuttier from the whole wheat. The topping also won’t brown quite as much with the cutback in butter, but can my belly tell that it’s not quite as brown as usual? Didn’t think so.

Here we are, slicing apples. Using one bowl as a “trash bowl” a la Rachael Ray. Yes, she’s annoying, but the girl’s got a point. I like the trash bowl.

What? It’s helpful.

Joy recommends using about 7.5 cups of sliced apples. I ended up with about 8.

Place the apples in your (greased) baking dish layer by layer, sprinkling cinnamon and sugar sparingly over them each time.

When you’re out of apples, toss them all together to distribute and cope the cinnamon + sugar throughout.

Then get started on the topping:

Clockwise from bottom left: 1/3 cup old fashioned oats, 2/3 cup whole wheat flour, 2/3 cup AP flour, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, 2/3 cup light brown sugar, 2/3 cup turbinado sugar

Stir with a wooden spoon, because wooden spoons are homey and domestic.

Here’s where the butter comes in, but I used my fingers to combine the mixture and couldn’t take a pic. Sorry.

Before covering the whole thing with the oat crisp topping, add a handful right into the apples and toss one more time. It’ll make the hot apples even ooier and gooier.

It’s still brown(ish)!!

And I mean, does it even matter? Look at that deliciousness.

With 10 heaping (and I mean heaping) servings, this totals only 270 cals. So make this now, and don’t feel guilty later! Trust me.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to BwB and get email updates whenever I post something new!

Join 22 other followers

Categories

